MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF SOUTHWEST TEXAS JUNIOR COLLEGE

June 19, 2014

The Board of Trustees of Southwest Texas Junior College met in regular session June 19, 2014 in the Bluebonnet Room of the Matthews Student Center. The Board President, Rodolfo R. Flores, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Board members present were:

Rodolfo R. Flores, President Dr. Harry O. Watkins, Vice-President Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary Maria Elena Lara Victor Lopez Tony T. Moreno, and Anita Shackelford

Also present was Dr. Hector Gonzales, President of the College.

The minutes of the May 15, 2014 meeting were read and approved as presented by Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary.

Board President Flores welcomed guests at the meeting which included college personnel Dr. Blaine Bennett, Joe Barker, Dr. Mark Underwood, Anne Tarski, Gilbert Bermea, Wade Carpenter, Margot Mata, Ismael Martinez, Karen Baen, Connie Buchanan, Cheryl Sanchez, Jesus (J.J.) Suarez, Luis Fernandez, Oscar S. Garcia and Dick Whipple. Also present was Dr. Paul Sorrels from SRSU-RGC and from the Uvalde Leader News was Kim Eagle.

Audience to Patrons - none

Reports:

- A. CCATT 2014 Annual Conference Mr. Moreno and Mrs. Lara both commented on the conference.
- B. Accountability Report presented by Dr. Hector Gonzales
- C. Del Rio Project Update None
- D. Quarterly Investment Report presented by Anne Tarski
- E. Summer I Enrollment Report presented by Margot Mata

President's Report presented by Dr. Hector Gonzales. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Tony T. Moreno to approve the financial statement as of May 31, 2014 as presented by Anne Tarski, Vice-President of Finance. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

Del Rio project change orders – none.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Anita Shackelford to approve the 2014 - 2019 Strategic Plan as presented by Dick Whipple. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Tony T. Moreno to approve the Faculty Handbook changes as presented by Dr. Mark Underwood, Vice-President of Academic Services. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Maria Elena Lara and seconded by Anita Shackelford to approve the Catalog changes as presented by Dr. Mark Underwood, Vice-President of Academic Services. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Victor Lopez to approve the revising of Local Policy DEC and Exhibit DEC in accordance with the guidance from TASB attorneys. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

After convening in open session, Board President Flores called the board into executive session at 7:50 p.m. to consider:

- A. Division Chair appointments
- B. Employees: Terminated/Resigned/Retired/New Hires/Transfers
- C. Personnel Matters

Upon returning to open session at 8:55 p.m.:

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to appoint the following as Division Chairs; Jesus (J.J.) Suarez - Allied Health and Human Services Division, Connie Buchanan - Business, Industrial, and Technical Studies Division, and Robert Ayala - Arts and Sciences Division as recommended by Administration. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Tony T. Moreno to approve the 2014 – 2015 Operating Budget. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Tony T. Moreno and seconded by Victor Lopez to approve the 2014 – 2015 salary increase as stated: employees making less than \$30,000 will receive 4 steps, employees making over \$30,000 will receive 2 steps, professionals will receive a 2% salary increase and President Gonzales' salary will be \$155,000. Motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to approve the adding of 3 more steps to the existing Salary Schedule. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

With no further business or action items to discuss, Anita Shackelford made the motion to adjourn. Maria Elena Lara seconded the motion. Motion carried at 8:58 p.m.

Rodolfo R. Flores, President of the Board

Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of the Board

Dr. Hector Gonzales, Witness